HH Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani named a new cabinet the day after becoming the Amir of the State of Qatar on 25 June 2013. The last full reshuffle was in November 2018, when ministries were restructured under a new portfolio. However, Amiri Order No 1 of 2020 appointed a new prime minister due to the resignation of the previous incumbent.


In the 2018 reshuffle, The Amir combined commerce and industry under one ministry, appointed new ministers to the justice, labour and social affairs, and municipality and environment ministries, and decreed changes to the boards of Qatar Petroleum and Qatar Investment Authority in view of ministerial appointments.

The Amir is the Head of State and the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The Advisory Council represents the legislative power, while judicial authority is in the hands of the law courts with judgments announced in the name of the Amir.

The Amir is assisted by the Council of Ministers (the cabinet), the Prime Minister and supreme councils. The Prime Minister and other ministers are directly appointed by the Amir; he will also accept their resignations or relieve them of their appointment, by Amiri Decree.

The General Secretariat of the Council of Ministers acts as a link between the ministries, supreme councils and other government bodies. The Minister of State for the Council of Ministers is the Prime Minister, currently HE Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa Al Thani, who chairs each session and signs any decisions made. He is also able to advise the Amir on how to form the cabinet. The General Secretary is HE Dr Issa bin Saad Al Jafali Al Nuaimi (Minister of Justice and Acting Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs).

The Advisory Council (Shura Council) was established in 1972. It currently comprises 45 members, 30 directly elected in a secret general ballot, with the remaining 15 appointed by the Amir. The Advisory Council has legislative powers, is responsible for the general budget for public projects, and other matters dealing with economic, administrative and political issues. Each annual session lasts eight months, opened with an address by the Amir, and sessions are generally open to the public.

The first Central Municipal Council was established in the early 1950s. Free elections to form the Central Municipal Council were held in 1999, the country’s first steps towards democracy and the encouragement of women to run as candidates and be involved in public affairs. The Council has members from each of the 29 constituencies and elections are held every four years.

For more information regarding Qatar’s political set-up, visit Hukoomi, the Qatar e-Government service portal and the Government Communications Office website.

The current list of cabinet of ministers:


Prime Minister and Interior Minister Prime Minister and Interior Minister HE Sheikh Khalid bin Khalifa bin Abdulaziz Al Thani – appointed January 2020 following the resignation of HE Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa Al Thani. HE Sheikh Khalid bin Khalifa bin Abdulaziz Al Thani was appointed Chief of the Amiri Diwan in November 2014, and also sits on the board of the Sports and Social Activities Support Fund (Daam).

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State for Defence Affairs HE Dr Khalid bin Mohamed Al Attiyah – appointed Minister of State for Defence in   January 2016 and Deputy Prime Minister in November 2017. He has been a member of the Council of Ministers since 2011 when he was Minister of State for Foreign Affairs; from 2013 to 2016, HE Al Attiyah was Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs HE Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al Thani – appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs in January 2016 and Deputy Prime Minister in November 2017. In November 2018 he was appointed Chairman of Qatar Investment Authority.

Minister of Administrative Development, Labour and Social Affairs HE Yousef bin Mohammed Al Othman Fakhroo – appointed November 2018. The ministry was formed in 2016.

Minister of Commerce and Industry HE Ali bin Ahmed Al Kuwari – appointed November 2018 under the renamed ministry (was previously the Ministry of Economy and Commerce).

Minister of Culture and Sports HE Salah bin Ghanem Al Ali – appointed January 2016 when the Ministry was formed by merging the Ministries of Youth and Sports, and Culture, Arts and Heritage. He was previously Minister of Youth and Sports from June 2013.

Minister of Education and Higher Education HE Mohammed Abdul Wahed Ali Al Hammadi – appointed June 2013. He is also the President of Qatar National Committee for Education, Culture and Science.

Minister of Endowments (Awqaf) and Islamic Affairs HE Dr Ghaith bin Mubarak Al Kuwari – appointed June 2013.

Minister of Finance HE Ali Sherif Al Emadi – appointed in June 2013. He is also Chairman of the QNB Group, President of the Executive Board of Qatar Airways, and Deputy Chairman of Qatar National Tourism Council.

Minister of Justice and Minister of State for the Council of Ministers Affairs HE Dr Issa bin Saad Al Jafali Al Nuaimi – appointed November 2018. From June 2013 he was Minister of Administrative Development, Labour and Social Affairs.

Minister of Municipality and Environment HE Abdullah bin Abdulaziz bin Turki Al Subaie  – appointed November 2018. He has been the Managing Director of Qatar Railways Company from March 2011, additionally becoming CEO in January 2017. He has also held positions with Barwa, Qatari Diar Group, and Qatar General Electricity & Water Corporation (Kahramaa).

Minister of Public Health HE Dr Hanan Mohamed Al Kuwari – appointed January 2016. She was previously the Managing Director of Hamad Medical Corporation (HMC) for nine years. Among various positions on advisory boards, she is also a member of the Sidra Board of Governors and the Board of Directors of Qatar Foundation for Social Work.

Minister of Transport and Communications HE Jassim bin Saif Al Sulaiti – appointed January 2016 after the two ministries were merged. He was previously the Minister of Transport, a position he held from 2013.

Minister of State for Energy Affairs HE Saad Sherida Al Kaabi – appointed November 2018. At the same time he became Deputy Chairman of Qatar Petroleum, in addition to his role as President and CEO of the national petrochemical company.

Leave a Reply